15 Things I’ve Learned in 15 Years

Hey guys, it’s Zainab, welcome or welcome back to my blog! This time of year is when I celebrate my birthday, so I thought it would be fitting to share 15 things I’ve learned over the past 15 years (a lot of them I’ve learned fairly recently, though) I also just wanted to say that this post was inspired by Natalie Bell’s post where she shared 15 things that she’s learned – so make sure you read her post aswell – let’s jump into it!

1) Confidence Is Key

When I was younger, I actually used to be really shy. So, being able to have confidence now has really made me realise how important it is for me and my personality!

2) Putting Myself Out There Is Crucial

Through this blog, I’ve learned that putting myself out there is really helpful in order to be a part of this blog community and get some incredible opportunities. So, I’ve learned to not be afraid of expressing myself and my beliefs.

3) At Times, I Have To Put Myself First

As someone who has been a people pleaser for a long time, I’m still learning that putting myself and my priorities first is vital.

4) I Shouldn’t Feel Ashamed of Anything I’m Doing

Whether it’s to do with blogging, or me taking part in something, I can sometimes tend to feel a bit embarrassed and I’m learning to take ownership and be proud!

5) I Can’t Take Part In Everything

I’m someone who really likes to do a lot, but that can definitely lead to burnout. I recently struggled with this so I’m definitely learning to be more selective if I’m taking part in different events/activities.

6) Feel Free To Try New Hobbies/Skills Out

7) Trust Your Gut Instinct

This goes for all aspects of life. Whether I’m doing a test or am in a difficult situation, my gut instinct is almost always right and I’m always learning to trust it more.

8) Procrastination Is Not My Friend

9) Planning Is Vital To My Productivity

10) Don’t Be Upset If Expectations Aren’t Always Met

11) Always Dream Big

My big dreams are always my motivation to work hard, so I always want to keep dreaming big and to remain ambitious.

12) I’m In Competition With Nobody But Myself

13) You Can’t Please Everyone

14) It’s Okay To Say No

A great thing I heard on Youtube once is that ‘No is a full sentence.’ and I’m always trying to keep this philosophy with me. I have to prioritise myself and only please myself, as previously said!

15) Taking Breaks Are Important Too


Thank you so much for reading this post, I’d love to know some recent lessons you guys have learned – let me know by commenting down below!

You want to see more of me and get exclusive updates on my blog? Well check out my socials!
Instagram – For exclusive updates on posts
Goodreads – You can see any books I’ve read or even recommend me one!
Contact Me if you would like to collaborate or have any other inquiries
Any suggestions or feel like chatting? Comment down below!

Have a lovely day!

33 thoughts on “15 Things I’ve Learned in 15 Years

  1. Alina

    Wow, MashaAllah Zainab! A lot of these points are important such as learning to say no and that you’re in competition with no one but yourself. Glad to know you’ve come so far and you’ve only gotten stronger with time✨

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sabrina💭💛

    As I turn 15 in a few months, I can say that I have learned all these things too and more. Some of these I am still working on but it’s going well. Confidence is my best friend🤞. It’s something that my dad told me to have on my very first day of school and I’ve never forgotten it🌼. Sometimes I feel embarrassed about doing something and I’m like why😂🤦‍♀️???!!! It’s like feeling unnecessary embarrassment mixed with a bit of shyness, I don’t know how to describe it🙉. Girlll! I don’t know why at this point in my life there are times when I still doubt my gut feeling when about 98% of the time, it’s right😆. No is a full sentence but sometimes I feel bad for saying no, but it’s something that I will always work on. Have you already celebrated your birthday or is it still coming🙃?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zainab

      Haha I totally agree with all of your points! I get my confidence from my parents too, cause let’s be real – everyone is worrying about themselves so they’ll probably only look at you for a few seconds! And yes, I learned trusting my gut feeling the hard way in many situations! 😂 Yeah I celebrated my birthday with my family on the day, and as a little late treat, I’m celebrating with my friends!

      What are you doing for your 15th??

      Like

      • Sabrina💭💛

        Right😂. But some people will literally press pause on whatever they’re going through just to give you some attention.
        Oh happy belated birthday then🎉🎉. May Allah spare you many more years to come and may He bless and protect you💮.

        I don’t know yet. It’s not for another 3 months. But it will most probably be a celebration with family either at home or somewhere🤷‍♀️.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment